London Ice Hockey - Streatham Ice Hockey News 2014 | Streatham Ice Hockey -
Aug 1, 2016

League structure confirmed

The League Management Committee of the National Ice Hockey League (NIHL) are pleased to confirm the structure for the NIHL North and South for the coming season.

The National League is the second tier of senior hockey under the EIHA umbrella and features 36 clubs from across the length and breadth of England, Wales and a club in south west Scotland.

In our league Cardiff Devils formally pulled out at the eleventh hour. An offer of a place in NIHL South 1 was made to another team but sadly could not proceed at such short notice.

The NIHL South 1 league will therefore contain the following teams:

Bracknell Hornets, Chelmsford Chieftains, Invicta Dynamos, London Raiders, Milton Keynes Thunder, Oxford City Stars, Solent Devils, Streatham IHC, Wightlink Raiders

The full fixture list will be published on Wednesday morning including details of Cup competitions.

For reference the other leagues at this level are:

North 1 (Moralee): Billingham Stars, Blackburn Hawks, Deeside Dragons, Solihull Barons, Solway Sharks, Sutton Sting, Telford Tigers, Whitley Warriors.

North 2 (Laidler): Altrincham Aces, Blackburn Eagles, Bradford Bulldogs, Coventry Blaze, Hull Jets, Nottingham Lions, Sheffield Senators, Widnes Wild.

South 2 (West): Basingstoke Buffalo, Bristol Pitbulls, Cardiff Fire, Swindon Wildcats, Wightlink Buccaneers

South 2 (East): Chelmsford Warriors, Invicta Mustangs, Lee Valley Lions, London Haringey Racers, Peterborough Islanders, Slough Jets